The program explores the complex musical situation in Vienna, the capital of European music at the beginning of the 1800s, during the two decades of great cultural ferment that saw the Vienna Congress (1814/1815) as the turning point between the ideals of the Enlightenment and those of the Restoration. There was a radical change in the social role of music, which was no longer used as an instrument of awareness and knowledge, but instead became a narcotic, useful to disguise the harsh reality of post-Napoleonic and post-Enlightenment society.

These historical circumstances deeply characterized the poetry of the most important composers of the time: Beethoven, Schubert and Rossini all of whom gravitated around Vienna during that same period, contaminating one another.

Cello and piano:

Franz Schubert: Sonata in A minor “Arpeggione” D821 

Gioachino Rossini: Une Larme for cello and piano – from “Péchés de Vieillesse”, book IX 

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata for cello and piano in D major, Op. 102 No. 2 


Cello and strings:

Franz Schubert: Sonata in A minor “Arpeggione” D821 (arr. for cello and strings by Vladimir Mendelssohn)

Gioachino Rossini: Une Larme for cello and piano – from “Péchés de Vieillesse”, book IX (arr. for cello and strings by Eliodoro Sollima)

Gioachino Rossini: Sonata a quattro No. 3 in C major

Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 11  “Serioso” in F minor, Op. 95 (arr. for cello and strings by Gustav Mahler)

Back to projects